In the past two days I have received many copies of this message:-
IIT Bombay student Anupam Biswas 5th Year Mechanical Engg is suffering from Colukabki (caused due to excessive nabad and depression) a disease very rarely found (3 in a billion). His condition is very pathetic and the treatment is very expensive, obviously his parents are not able to afford his reatment. Orkut has agreed to pay 1 paisa after each time this message is forward. So please pass to all ur friends.
So first though that came to my mind is, how true is this? I did a search on Google, Yahoo!, Ask, MSN and Wikipedia and did not find any reference of the so called disease, I am surprised that it is so rare that it is not mentioned on any of the billion odd pages. The only places this is being referred to are the message groups or discussion forums where the exact same message is shown with changes in the names of the person and Orkut being replaced by Yahoo!
One more sentence say “Orkut has agreed to pay 1 paisa”, well when did Orkut announce this, and whom did it inform this to. I do not find any press releases or any details about this anywhere. Also why would Orkut announce this, the only valid intention I can think of is to make more people use Orkut. But why would they do that, the servers are most of the time overloaded and offer donuts, so why would they want more load of these messages ???
So friends this message is a Hoax, and please do not forward this message to your friends. If you think this is true, please let me know the reasons for the same.
|
Hits for this post: 6692










Hi,
I too did a few searches. I came to the same conclusion. and moreover the name Anupam Biswas was not found anywhere in the student list that IIT Bombay has published.
http://www.me.iitb.ac.in/students.php
regards,
Leo
These are just a hoax and rumour…please try to understand orkut or yahoo doesn’t pay for such forwards…the disease doesn’t exist…plz don’t forward such things…thanx
Hi,
after reading the above mentioned the first and the logical question that came to my mind was, “Even if we forward the message to, say, a million users, how the hell will orkut find out?”.
I think answer to this question would have saved a lot of web searching.
And if I am wrong, does anyone know of method that will detect these, say, a million forwards??
:0
-VAIBHAV
lol….ppl gotta realise that these mails are fake…seriously never sudrofies…this mail with the name Anupam Biswas has been send in orkut,yahoo n hotmail…with different locations ie bombay,pune n delhi…
Hi,
There are a lot of Hoaxes roaming around Orkut. Recently I got the following message as a forward. The full transcript is given below (The name of the person, e-mail ID and link have been modified to prevent SPAM)
—————————————————————————–
———- Forwarded message ———-
From: XXXXX
To: my friends
Date: Mon, 13 Nov 2006 08:31:10 -0800
Subject: VERYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY IMPORTANT
Indian student in USA met with an accident last week..the car was
driven by a drunk american boy…he has no one in US..his parents cant
afford to go there and help him out..hovewer the university he studied
in has decided to pay half the cost but the other half has to be paid by
someone..the INDIAN STUDENTS ASSOCIATION has decided that it wil pay
10cents every time this message is passed on…YAHOO has agreed to this
and the message has already passed a lot…this is the time to show that u
r a true indian..please be generous and send this to all the people on
ur list..HELP HIM…LET THE AMERICANS SEE WHAT INDIA IS…. so: send
this to everyone on ur list
This message was sent to you by XXXXX. To see XXXXX’s profile click:
http://www.orkut.com/Profile.aspx?uid=XXXXX
* * *
To control notification emails, access your Account Settings:
http://www.orkut.com/Settings.aspx
If you are not an orkut user, you can block all orkut users from sending you email by visiting:
http://www.orkut.com/Block.aspx
—————————————————————————–
It can be pinned down as a “Hoax” due to the following reasons:
1) The message does not mention the name of the ‘Student’.
2) The name of the ‘university he studied’ is not given.
3) The ‘I’ of the ‘indian student in USA…’ is not capitalised. (Had this been sent by a ‘Serious’ Indian, he/she wouldn’t have done like this!).
4) There are a lot of punctuation & grammar mistakes like: ‘it wil pay 10cents every time’
5) So far there are no systems or technologies available to track how many times an e-mail message has been forwarded around the world!
To know more about How to identify a Hoax visit:
How to identify a Hoax?
(http://live-blog.blogspot.com/2005/11/how-to-identify-hoax.html)
http://barringer.co.uk/tips/email-identifyahoax.html
http://hoaxbusters.org/hoax10.html
Best regards & Happy surfing!
Mansi
1) Mechanical engineering is a regular Btech which is a 4 year course in IIT. so 5th year students dont exst (if they fail in 4th year.. still they would stay in 4th year right? not promoted to a 5th year?!)
2) 3 in a billion sounds a strange statistics.. Which doctor would be able to diagnose such a disease? (I am a doctor myself)
3) kolukabki the name which doesnt exist in any medical literature.. it sounds a neologism.. prank or pathologic?
4) What the hell is Nabad? idleness?
5) why would orkut transact in paise. he is in US and would talk in dollers and cents
6) so this is the work of some indian student who is pathetically suffering from severe joblessness.. and either is envious of somebody with the name mentioned or just nonspecifically killing his own time and your - somebody who believed it and fwded it!
7) At least I am not the only one who thought this way, as I see many of you are thinking the same way..wise at least in this case.
-Dr Saptarshi Mandal MBBS(AIIMS)
For Dr. Mandal:
thx for ur insight about this… but i wanna make u clear that ther’s a 5 yr course and fifth year student there in many universities n d course is called as Dual Degree in IITS… so that part is true.. another info for all of u who’re wondering about NABAD.. it’s IITB lingo means A tense state of mind.. short form of Nervous Break Down…
Tapan
i too did a search and the first thing i landed on to was this page!!
Well guys these is completely untrue….nothing called colukaki exists…n orkut doesn’t pay anyone like that. Someone can put yr name and college and forward it and it will get forwarded
i got up with the same result friends
damm spammere
even i did not belieave this..on googling about anupam biswas..i found your’s. thanks for sharing.
When I searched, I came to noe bout a site Calle colukabki.com which is actually Col UK Abk I……..
I guess tht’s wher they got a perfect name for this so called Disease!!!!!
http://whois.domaintools.com/colukabki.com
This “forward” is a spoof on forwards, my young Sherlocks. It is not supposed to be forwarded to people to generate “money”, only laughter. You guys missed the joke. Sorry.
http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?NewsID=2475
Find Anupam Biswas on this page. He is indeed an IIT mechanical student. Probably some of his class mates made this forward to rip on him.
But the author of the “forward” intentionally made it as a spoof. It is evident all over the message with the exaggerations.